Oh the weather outside is frightful!

But inside it smells like cookies!  Well at my Oma’s at least.  Last night we headed over to do a little holiday baking and visit my grandma.  I think I was invited just to crank the handle on the, um, I don’t know what the name of it is…it’s like a meat grinder/pasta maker/cookie press thing from Germany.  It’s been in our family FOREVER.  When I was little I thought I was a hot shot when I got to turn the handle.  It was fun to see the kiddos were just as thrilled.  The cookies we made are called Spritz(sp?) and they get dunked in chocolate after they are done.

picture-2953

picture-2952

My mom was amused and stepped out of my way when I went to take pictures of the cookies.  I *think* she *may* be getting used to me and my camera… maybe.

I still can not believe that there is snow outside!  It looks so magical outside.  The downside?  People having to drive in it.  We Washington folk are NOT accustomed to driving in inclement weather and it shows.  Seriously the first flake and their reaction is to just drive right into the ditch.  I’m thankful that I don’t have to go anywhere.  Right now I am reminded of my first year on Nantucket.  Blizzards all winter long, it was the most snow I have seen in my life.  It was also my first experience driving in snow.  I still get nervous and I’m nervous for my people having to drive in it.

Who knows, maybe we’ll have a white Christmas…

Published in: on December 20, 2008 at 9:20 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bohemianflowerprincess.wordpress.com/2008/12/20/oh-the-weather-outside-is-frightful/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

